Stephen King Rocks the Dark Side Again in “Revival: A Novel” – A Book Review

RevivalRevival by Stephen King

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A small town boy and pastor become friends under unusual circumstances. Their friendship intertwines; each one owing something to the other, as they age. Why they are friends and the lengths that they will go for one another is fascinating as the tale unfolds.

One thing that you need to know about me, is that Stephen King has always been my favourite writer. Reading his books, screenplays, watching his good and even terribly made TV series and movies have always been something that I make room for in my life. I live for his cameo appearances before I can switch off a bad show that he writes and produces.

He can write a half a page about a lamppost to create a setting and I remain focussed on the story. He uses imagery and language that I rarely see in other novels. He is daring, blunt, and way out there when he says what he says, and is unabashed about writing from the bad side.

The pleasure is in reading King’s words that are disgusting, unsavoury and downright frightening. But how he writes, the imagery that blossoms in my mind prompted by his words and having the permission to read what sometimes feels naughty is sometimes the best feeling I can get from novels. There is a joy in going to the dark side with him and exploring.

The thrill of reading a great horror story is worrying that something dead is going to pop up out of a dark entryway to the room that I’m sitting in. While I read Stephen King’s
Revival: A Novel
, I had to peek around the recesses of my living space. Never quite sure if I was in a safe place, in my own home. That’s how drawn into this tale I became.

A recommended read.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Stephen King Rocks the Dark Side Again in “Revival: A Novel” – A Book Review

  1. Great review! Thanks for sharing! I can’t wait to get into this one. King has always been one of my mainstays. If you’re ever interested in checking out some other great reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

