When I’m My Own Heroine

This was too much fun to write. And, I seem to have written a symploce.


 

I said man, I don’t need a hero
When I’m my own heroine
I said man, I don’t need a hero when you’re a zero
I’m on my own mission, my own mission

Don’t have to figure it out all right now
I said man, I don’t need a hero
Can figure it out later somehow
When I’m my own heroine, my own superhero

I’m a woman, see me go for it
I’m a woman, see me leap for that
I’m a woman, see me shoot for it
I’m a woman, see me jump for that

Solitude is my superpower
Alone is out of this world
Aptitude is in my tower
Alone is out of this whirled

If you need me just tweet me now
I’ll show up to get rid of him
I’ll get to you somehow
I’ll be there at your whim

I’m a woman, I’ve got all the power
I don’t play his game
I’ll have him dead by the hour
Just call my name

Just call my name
And I’ll be there
I’m on my game
I super-duper swear


 

Writing 201: hero(ine)

  • Prompt: hero(ine)
  • Form: ballad
  • Device: anaphora/epistrophe (symploce when used together)
15 thoughts on “When I’m My Own Heroine

Leave a Reply

