Review: Paula Brackston’s “The Witch’s Daughter”

The Witch's DaughterThe Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Elizabeth Hawksmith, a centuries-old witch, takes on the good and the bad, inherent in those around her – and, both also existing within herself. Read
The Witch’s Daughter
by Paula Brackston, to find out what makes a witch a wonder to read about, over a span of note-worthy historical events.

Mesmerized by world history, witches, magic, healing, and the supernatural, I found this book to be exciting, my fingers gripping the paperback.

The pleasure is in reading the clever surprises in the narrative brought about by Brackston’s superb writing techniques. The use of senses, memories, triggers, familiarities, and music are all delightfully applied. Brackston helps me picture what is going to happen next by showing me in a refreshing way that is new to me. Clever ways of keeping characters in the story are employed. This allows me to look at how Brackston writes and not just at the content – as a reader who also writes, I appreciate reading a story by a writer who makes things new.

A great book takes me out of my world and pulls me right into another. There be witches, around me.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Review: Paula Brackston’s “The Witch’s Daughter”

  1. I have to tell you, I love a good witch book. I love everything surrounding witches and I have many books about the craft and things like that. I had never heard of The Witch’s Daughter, for some reason, but right now I want to read it. A lot. I’ll buy it as soon as I find it – and my wallet allows it – it’s always very difficult to do so in my country. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, sure! I love The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane. There’s The Mists of Avalon, which isn’t precisely a witch series, but follows the fall of paganism through the story of King Arthur. I would highly recommend anything by Marion Zimmer Bradley. I have some non fiction about neopaganism, but I’m not sure if you’d be interested. There’s The Witching Hour by Anne Rice, and, let’s see… I have Wicked and A Discovery of Witches waiting in line to be read. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you Nathalia. More books to add to my TBR pile. 🙂 I’m also interested in any non-fiction books that you may recommend – I have a witch in my novel that I’m writing and I’m learning more about anything witches and Wiccan. And thank you for introducing me to neopaganism.

        Like

      3. You’re welcome, it’s something I love to talk about! There’s Wicca for Beginners by Thea Sabin, One Witch’s World by Patricia Crowther, A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner (and A Further Guide) by Scott Cunningham, and, of course, books about celtic and norse mythology.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

